SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 19th April 2016, 23:39

Unhappy How did you get your job and how???

I've been applying for jobs online now for nearly four months and so far I've had 4 rejections and no other replies out of the 100's of jobs I've applied for. It's a knock for somebody who's quite extrovert but for me being so socially anxious, the rejection is making my anxiety worse.
I recently did some research on how to find a job and the only way apparently is to start networking by introducing myself on social media sites and such like Facebook and LinkedIn and strike up friendships with these people.For someone with SA the thought of doing this fills me with dread. For a start most of my Facebook friends I don't really know because they sent me friends requests to look like they have loads of friends. The ones I do know would pass me on the street and just ignore me like I don't exsist.
According to posts about networking, nearly all of them got jobs through a friend of a friend of a friend and hardly any got a job from just applying to online job vacancies. What hope have I got if I don't have the confidence to do this? Just applying for online jobs makes me ill!
I came across my ideal job yesterday which was landscape gardening for a large family home which would suit me down to a T! Minimum contact with humans and doing something I love which is gardening and getting my hands dirty. They want somebody who has experience but the only experience I've got is doing my own garden