SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 6th October 2014, 15:30

Mood
Tired

Default sertraline

Hi folks, I have been prescribed sertraline 50mg. Does anyone have experience of this? Is it any good? I'm new to meds as only recently had the guts to go to my gp. Is there any horrible side effects?
Old 6th October 2014, 16:58

Mood
Bored

Default Re: sertraline

Sertraline made me manic (not hypomania, full blown mania – I've never had it before or since so it was definitely from sertraline) and depersonalised (I still get that today, years after taking sertraline). SSRIs aren't as benign as most people think. Be careful.
Old 6th October 2014, 17:17

I hated it, it made me extremely agitated and anxious, I was nauseous, tearful and basically a gibbering wreck for the short period I took it for. There was no way I could have stuck with it to see if the side effects wore off.

Fluoxetine was the same, put me off anti depressants for life.
Old 6th October 2014, 20:59

Mood
Lurking

I have used Sertraline for a couple of years now and it has defiantly helped me with my depression, I use it in conjunction with Citalopram.
Old 6th October 2014, 21:46

They should use the Pringle's slogan when trying to push anti-depressants... 'once you pop you never stop'.
Old 6th October 2014, 22:16

Mood
Tired

Thanks everyone for the replies. Took the first one tonight so wait and see I guess. Hopefully it will work for me. I never wanted to start anti depressants but im at the stage now where I will do anything to improve things. Here's hoping.....
Old 6th October 2014, 22:35

Mood
Bashful