SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 11th September 2019, 22:20

Mood
Bashful

Default I am now a PhD student!

On the off hand I applied for a PhD studentship in psychology/medicine (technically general practice medicine), I got an interview. I nearly backed out of the interview because of SA but I went anyway and they said they interviewed around 15 people but I got the studentship! I'm glad I went, I was literally so close to just going home on the bus and making an excuse of why I couldn't go.

My life is looking up now as a studentship means I get paid a wage basically and I can come off benefits, which I didn't mind being on but I've had a change of heart turning 30 and want to make something of my life.

My project is looking at dementia which my Mum died of. It is to see if we can improve/or if it is realistically possible to communicate with people with dementia to improve how they are rehabilitated once they have had surgery. I am not sure how it will pan out yet but I am supervised by a general practitioner (who went to cambridge lol), a health psychologist, and a statistician who are all extremely more clever than me so I think it will produce good results!
Old 11th September 2019, 22:33

Mood
Tired

Default Re: I am now a PhD student!

Congrats! I hope you do well.
Old 11th September 2019, 22:39

Mood
Bashful

Thanks mate.
Old 11th September 2019, 23:09

Congratulations, what an incredible achievement. Your future is certainly looking up. How long ago did you do your Psychology degree and masters?
Old 11th September 2019, 23:16

Congratulations!
Old 11th September 2019, 23:23

Mood
Breezy

Excellent, good for you.

What did you do your masters in?
Old 11th September 2019, 23:30

Congratulations!!
Old 11th September 2019, 23:49

Mood
Bashful