SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Closed Thread  Post New Thread

Old 10th December 2006, 22:09

Default Relaxation/Meditation techniques

Do you often practice relaxation?

I've never done it before and I'm totally clueless about how to do proceed.

Do you have a particular/favourite technique, good set of instructions or description of how practice relaxation (position, actions, thoughts...)?

I'm looking for something simple but preferably explained in non-hippy terms.
Old 10th December 2006, 22:23

Default Re: Relaxation/Meditation techniques

I don't practice regularly due to poor discipline but I have practiced Buddhist mindfulness meditation. it's one of the simplest techniques around. You just sit, crossed legged or on a cushion or stool and follow your breath in and out. When your thoughts wander, as they invariably will, don't hold on to them or follow them just bring your focus back to your breath. A good little book is called The Meditation Bible. There are any number of meditations from all traditions across the globe. You're bound to find something that works for you there.
If you want to talk more about meditation/relaxation please feel free to email me. sorormystica2002@hotmail.com
Old 11th December 2006, 00:12

Mood
Inspired

Hi Ariadne, Im doing a hypnotherapy course and we often practise relaxation techniques through visualisation. Its a good way to unwind and if you can tape yourself then you have your own self hypnosis tool. You can find free scripts for relaxation to download or print online too.
Old 11th December 2006, 21:52

Thank you for your replies!

The one I've tried is based on breathing. I'm an incorrigible daydreamer and I found my few attempts very hard; impossible to prevent my mind from taking off in a random direction and floating aimlessly for miles and miles.