SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > General Discussion > The Lounge
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 23rd June 2014, 18:05

Default Advice needed regarding workers rights

Hey guys,

I just wondered if anybody here had any knowledge of workers rights. I currently work in retail, when I first started we used to be asked to come in ten minutes before our shift to be briefed on where we would be working within the store that day, and also be told about what money the store has taken that week etc and the goals for the day, plus any other information we needed to know. We used to be able to sign in before our brief, so would be paid for it as it was technically work related. So I would come in 15 mins before I started work, put my bag in my locker etc and then sign in and sit down for a brief. We now have a new manager who has said we have to be at work 15 mins before for our briefing and we wont be paid for it.

I know it seems really petty, and i'm not overtly angry about it, but our new manager is a complete arsehole anyway, he has given written warnings to people for ridiculous things, one lady had to leave work because her son had cracked his head open at school and there was nobody else to pick him up.

I just wanted to know, for my knowledge whether he is allowed to do this sort of thing?

Thanks in advance to anybody who takes the time to read and reply!
Old 23rd June 2014, 18:11

Default Re: Advice needed regarding workers rights

You should check this website out for further information.
http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/englan...ts_at_work.htm

Technically you are working, and you have a right to payment during working hours, so yes, you should be entitled to pay during that time period.
Old 23rd June 2014, 18:24
Banned at own request

Get to work exactly the time that you have to clock in, walk in and start work. He hasn't got a leg to stand on