SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > SAUK Community > Club 30-81
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 7th April 2021, 00:01

Default Zwanzig Jahre, die gleiche Scheiße

Realised I'm fighting the same battles now I was at 25, over 20 years ago. Some indifferent and cliquey or even slightly hostile coworkers from the kickoff, having to try to earn their respect and acceptance, and losing whatever had been earned in some cases due to perceptions of incompetence it seems (I'm very new in the job and finding it an uphill struggle, plus the corporate approach to training is a bit eyebrow-raising).

Plus being told that across the audio I sound like the youngest team member, when in fact I am by far the oldest.

Makes me wonder what it's all about in a way, why I've bothered. I try to keep positive and pro-active, and always work on self-improvement, but this is a real kick in the you-know-what.
Old 8th April 2021, 15:40

Default Re: Zwanzig Jahre, die gleiche Scheiße

Good luck in the new job limey I hope things work out in the long term and that you do eventually feel settled.
Old 8th April 2021, 15:52

Mood
Tired

Default Re: Veinte años la misma mierda

you do need to watch that in trying to find acceptance of work colleagues,
that you don't end up bringing yourself down to their level, and staying there,

worse than that,. they can end up changing and then you look like a nob,..
when all you were doing was trying to bond in some way.

it's not easy, but you give up too much when you pretend to go down to their level, and buy into their crap.

I lost myself a long time ago, and wish,. as weird as i was,. that I'd stayed true to myself.
Old 8th April 2021, 17:36

I can relate to you, Limey. I so know the feeling! I do hope you manage to settle into your new job soon. It can't be easy making a career change like you're doing. I really admire you for it. Good advice from Mr Nobody.