SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 23rd January 2014, 22:58

Default Your worse avoidant behaviour?

In a situation where you have felt to frightened to face how have you avoided it? I know the strongest thing to do is come face to face with the problem and accept that it won't be as bad as you seem, but is times when you've had to find some way of avoiding the embarrassment, the torture and humiliation. What are some ways you have done this? The reason for my curiosity is because I have the manager and operations manager in tomorrow for a staff meeting. I work as a support worker in a residential home for young people with autism and other learning difficulties and the pressure of them both being there tomorrow is overwhelming just imagining it and I know my manager dislikes me a little. Plus my social anxiety will probably make me stutter my words or act really awkward...

What are your guys worst avoidant behaviours you've displayed?
Old 24th January 2014, 07:11

Default Re: Your worse avoidant behaviour?

i avoid a lot of things I have to do at work, basic tasks, this is a massive problem at the moment.
Old 25th January 2014, 11:09

Mood
Breezy

Picking the kids up from school (can't avoid this!!) but avoid the other mums by sitting in the car til the last minute :/

I avoid answering the phone if I don't know the number and will avoid calling people, even people I know.
Old 25th January 2014, 15:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by LBD27
Picking the kids up from school (can't avoid this!!) but avoid the other mums by sitting in the car til the last minute :/

I avoid answering the phone if I don't know the number and will avoid calling people, even people I know.
all these things!!

im risking a fine for getting my kids to school late too many times.

i avoid supermarket aisles with people in too.