SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 12th March 2024, 16:04

Default How much do you do based on what you think other people would think of you?

I’ve been watching some Timothy Ward and it’s made me think of this question. My current situation as well. I’ve taken a break from uni, not sure tbh if I would want to go back, as I’m happy not going at the moment.

My main source of anxiety is how it looks as I work part time. It doesn’t look good to look unemployed or under employed. However since leaving uni I have been running more that I notice that my balance and leg strength seems to have improved. I think as a result my anxiety is a bit better as well.

I work as a kitchen porter, most people see that as a shitty job. I have repeatedly been told that I should be doing a better job. I should have a wife or girlfriend. By extended family, I should be planning on having kids.

If I’m to be honest, I really don’t feel like I’m that career oriented, I don’t care about career success. I care more about how it looks, as it builds a good impression I think, even if it doesn’t make you a better person. For girlfriend, I wouldn’t mind one but I don’t think I’m overly fussed. I would rather more friends. I don’t want a busy social life though, I think society tells us that we should want a busy social life. I don’t know about the future but currently I don’t want kids. They feel like too much work, I need to have a life I feel satisfied with before considering kids.