SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > Other Issues and Conditions
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 29th January 2016, 19:56

Mood
Bashful

Default 8 months sober but going to drink again

For some of you that have known me a while you may well be aware that I had/have alcohol problems and some would say I am an alcoholic. I began heavily drinking at 14/15 and could drink more than others (be the last one standing) and I loved it for the most part despite never having employment or a relationship etc. while drinking. It caused me some problems but I had a lot of fun, I drank everyday in the end. I went to hospital (alongside being involved in rehab and AA) and stopped drinking in May 2015 therefore I have been sober 8 months (and from all psychoactive substances apart from caffeine). Anyway, I do not accept many things in AA because I am a scientist and they contradict what we know about evidence and I have drifted away from people who are "12-steppers" (though I did do the 12-steps myself). I have talked to some people who were once alcoholics and now moderate their alcohol content and tonight I have decided to break my sobriety. I am going to try to drink three Guinnesses tonight and three tomorrow night if I feel like it and make sure I do not drink more than two days a week. I have been programmed in AA to think that one drink will lead to disaster (jails, institutions, and death) but I do not think that this is true, however, it is hard to break away from something that has been indoctrinated into me. I do not want anyone saying I will spiral back into alcoholism in case it makes me do that (self-fulfilling prophecy) and am just writing this because I have nowhere else to write it on a public platform.
Old 29th January 2016, 20:03

Mood
Cynical

Default Re: 8 months sober but going to drink again