SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Closed Thread  Post New Thread

Old 9th February 2010, 15:34

Default >Something I've learnt about identity<

---
Old 9th February 2010, 17:44

Default Re: >Something I've learnt about identity<

Good post - makes a lot of sense. I'm liking that sand turd too
Old 9th February 2010, 17:44

Mood
Sad

I studied identity at Uni and it really opened my eyes on a few things.

I think everyone spends so much time worrying about their identity and what other people think about them. They'll even do things that maybe don't reflect them but they'll do them because it fits into society better and it looks better to the outside world. But what makes the world unique is when people have different identities and I agree with you that it's about how you treat others rather than anything else.

I guess that's where the world these days can be shallow, as you say there are a couple of stock pieces of information that you find out about people and it immediately shapes your mind about them. Job, where do you live, are you in a relationship, etc. To the outside world, a lot of people judge you on these things, which isn't right. In reality, people should be who they want to be without anyone judging them based on that stock information because there are so many things outside of that. It's all about your heart and soul.

As you say, when you care about someone, all that stock information in a way is irrelevant. I know a couple of people and I couldn't honestly tell you what their exact job description is. It's not that I don't care about them but it's for other reasons they are in my life.

I think you deserve a lot of credit for thinking about this decision. In my mind, people should do what makes them happy (regardless of anything else).