SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > SAUK Community > Club 30-81
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 1st July 2014, 17:42

Default Coping with regret

One of the big emotions you have to cope with when you are 30+ and have spent your life crippled with SA is regret.

Do you have any specific, burning regrets? Mine is not going away to University. I did a couple of degrees at the local (fairly good) Uni, but I so wish I could have gone away somewhere when I was 18- some good, artsy university in a beautiful cathedral town. I was miserable at my dingy, grotty, run-down, small town comprehensive. And I hated my work experience at the local newspaper offices, which is where I expected to end up when I left. Then the idea of University grabbed me. It seemed like an opportunity to get away, to start again, to prove something to my family and neighbours and friends. But I just couldn't handle the social side of things, plus SA had left me too underdeveloped and immature. I still bitterly regret it. I sort of feel like I might have met 'my people' there, you know? People who don't care about ****ing flat screen TVs and cars and football and getting promotion in their boring IT job so they can buy a slightly bigger red brick hobbit home.

The death of Rik Mayall kinda brought it home to me. There was a big piece about how he'd met Adrian Edmondson at University and how they hit it off because they loved the same comedy shows and books and music and how they'd sit up all night in their student digs drinking, smoking weed and talking excitedly about different ideas. I would have loved that kind of life- to have gone away to Bath or Durham or somewhere, studied English Lit, got involved in drama, met a circle of friends, had lots of lazy, care-free fun and then gone on to live that sort of creative life (Edinburgh festival etc).