SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 18th September 2018, 14:25

Default Anyone feeling lonely too?

Hi,

There's quite a few things I want to address in this post. As a result it might be all over the place and for this I apologize in advance.

So, a year ago I moved from the US to the UK. It was definitely something I never thought I would do but I did in order to be w/ my current partner.
I have the opportunity to study here for 3 years currently.

It's been a year since I've moved and I feel stagnant. In a year I feel like I haven't grown.
Daily I'm finding it hard to be inspired to make any kind of work (I'm a part time artist).
See, here in the UK I don't have many friends. There's no people I can call up to just hang out. Back home I used to just call people up, I'd go to concerts, just do my own thing.
Here I sometimes feel like a lazy slug, literally because I can't hang out with anyone, I can't go to said concerts, or drive anywhere, and it just sucks. It's taken a huge tole on my mental health. I feel boring (as a recent of not speaking to people, to gain new perspectives or even make jokes!)
I am immensely lonely and I feel lost.
The only person I know here is my bf and over the course of the year it's been difficult because I know I can't hang out w/ him all the time, he has things to do, friends, family, everything I don't have here.
As much as I would like to "get out of his hair" once in awhile I end up in the same room mindlessly looking at YouTube videos until he is done working. (AND I FEEL AWFUL). I don't want to be this person anymore.