SAUK Discussion Board

Go Back   SAUK Discussion Board > Social Anxiety Discussions > The Social Anxiety Room
Join! Blogs FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply  Post New Thread

Old 29th November 2018, 16:52

Mood
Question

Default Advice

Hi, I'm new to this so bear with me. Here goes with some backstory, I am currently a third year student and well, I haven't been attending any classes. When I missed the first week of teaching, I thought 'ah it's fine' but after the second and third. It got to the point where I feared judgement for just turning up when I wasn't present the first couple of weeks.

I live in student accommodation and my SA doesn't help when I have to go food shopping either. I also fear people, even though I shouldn't, I can't help but think people judge me. Especially since I suffer from hyperhidrosis(excessive sweating) and having SA doesn't help that either...

Basically, I just need some advice on how to overcome the fear of judgement. Even if it's little steps... I need to be able to not let fear take over. It won't work well in the work environment as they aren't as lenient like at uni.... also if there is anyone going through this or has gone through it. What has or is helping you to cope?

Thanks for you time, I do appreciate it
Old 29th November 2018, 17:03

Default Re: Advice

Hi, I think it helps to simply care less and just trying to be at peace with the fact that you might be different or whatever is your personal causes for the difficulties. University isn't the right option for everyone, it turned out to be great for me given my very rational and curious personality, and the fact is it leads to improved prospects and opportunities but not if you don't attend lectures or are not performing well.